Home > Linux > Ubuntu 9.10 and the Stuff I Can’t Live Without

Ubuntu 9.10 and the Stuff I Can’t Live Without

Ubuntu logo

Despite enjoying Crunchbang as much as I did, when the Karmic Koala was let loose on the world I had to give it a go. I’ve been running it for about a week now and aside from one quicky resolved issue it’s been smooth sailing.  There is a plethora of Karmic reviews available all over the web so rather than reiterate what has been already stated, I thought I’d use this clean install to take note of some of the applications that I install every time a new distro hits my machine.

Most of the Linux distributions I use are Debian based so the install process is generally the “sudo apt-get install” approach. I know there are ways to take the packages you have installed and back them up for ease of installation at a later date or on another machine. That’s something I should have done a long time ago, and something that will probably continue to get pushed into the future >.<

Soooo… onto the applications.

Name: VLC
Install Command: sudo apt-get install vlc

VLC is a media player that plays, well, I’ve yet to come across anything it won’t play. I actually use this program on all my Windows and Linux machines as my primary media application.

Name: Proxychains
Install Command: sudo apt-get install proxychains

This is the program I use whenever I want to create a ssh tunnel to direct my web traffic through. It’s a breeze to configure and is awesome for browsing at public hotspots. I’ve also created a bash script that checks to see if the tunnel exists and, if so, opens Firefox with the correct settings. I may do a later post on how to configure and use this app.

Name: Virtualbox
Install Command: sudo apt-get install virtualbox-ose

Virtualbox is an open source virtualization application. Configuring virtual machines (VM) took some getting used to initially, but by the second or third setup I seemed to have the process down pat. The only extended issues I’ve had have been with getting the VM to recognize usb on the host machine. I haven’t put the time into ironing it out becuase it’s much easier to set up a network share between the virtual and host machines to transfer data. Though it could be an issue if you want to run iTunes and interact with your iPod on the VM.

Name: Gpodder
Install Command: sudo apt-get install gpodder

This is what I use to manage my podcasts. It’s very simple to use and has a great feature that allows you to save your list of podcasts so that you can download it when needed. If you have a long list of shows, like I do, this can save you a ton of time by not having to track down everything and re-add the feeds. Gpodder interacts well with my iPod running Rockbox firmware, another piece of software I highly recommend.

 

I think that covers everything that I make sure is on my machine for a fresh Linux install. The only other step that is required for my laptop is activating the hardware drivers for my Broadcom wireless NIC. Once that is done and these applications have been installed I have the ability to connect, securely if needed, to the internet just about anywhere. If you can do that then you can get most, if not all, of the information, drivers, or other software you may need.

Feel free to leave any questions or notes about what you software you can’ t live without in the comments.

Categories: Linux
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

